Indiana Handgun License Procedure
1. Go to http://www.in.gov/isp/2829.htm to fill out your application and to arrange for electronic fingerprints. You will pay your state fee & fingerprinting fees online. As you are filling out your application please double check for accuracy.
Write down your user name, password & application number—it is critical that you use the same application number when you submit your fingerprints and when you complete your permit at your local agency.
Once your application is submitted online, and your fingerprints have been taken, you MUST visit your local police agency in person to complete the application process. Note: Residents from cities of Valparaiso, Portage, Chesterton, Porter, Kouts, Hebron, Ogden Dunes, Burns Harbor, or Beverly Shores must contact your city or town police department for instructions. If you are a resident of unincorporated Porter County, you will complete your application at the Porter County Sheriff’s Office.
After completing the online application, applicants have 90 days to submit their fingerprints and have their application submitted to the Indiana State Police. After 90 days their application will expire and they will have to reactivate the application online. When expired, the applicant will be refunded their state fee only. This means you should visit your local police station at least 10 days before your application is going to expire to give us enough time to process your application before your 90 day limit.
2. Come to the Sheriff’s Office Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM 3:30 PM (except holidays). You MUST bring:
Money order for local fee (see below) payable to Porter County Sheriff’s Office or cash—EXACT CHANGE ONLY!
IN driver’s license or ID card with current address
Current handgun permit, if applicable
Money order or cashier's check payable to Porter County Sheriff's Office or cash. EXACT CHANGE ONLY!
Five Yr Hunting & Target - Fee exempt as of July 1, 2020 per IC 35-47-2-4
Five Yr Personal Protection - Fee exempt as of July 1, 2020 per IC 35-47-2-4
Lifetime Hunting & Target / No Current License - $50.00
Lifetime Hunting & Target / Current (not expired) License - $40.00
Lifetime Personal Protection / No Current License - $50.00
Lifetime Personal Protection / Current (not expired) License - $40.00
Current or Retired Law Enforcement Officer with 20 years service-* - $10.00
Current or Retired Corrections Officer with 20 years service-* - $10.00
Law Enforcement or Corrections Officer medically retired by a recognized pension board ** -$10.00
Firearms Dealer / Current Dealers License - $10.00
* Upload a letter to the state from your department documenting 20 years of service.
** Upload a letter to the state from the pension board documenting medical retirement.
A portion of the local fee is refundable if a license is not issued. The entire state fee is refundable if no license is issued. The fingerprinting fee is not refundable.
Things to Remember
An Indiana handgun license is not recognized by most other states and may not allow you to legally carry a handgun outside the State of Indiana. You may visit https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/ for additional information and resources. You should always check with the state police of the state you will be visiting before transporting a handgun across state lines.
If you are ever stopped or approached by the police, and you are carrying a handgun, advise the officer and show him/her your license to carry the handgun.
Current permit holders: You may apply no more than 365 days (1 year) before your current permit expires. After completing the steps below you must visit your local police station BEFORE YOUR PERMIT EXPIRES to be able to carry while your application is processed and to pay the lower fee.
Where can I get money orders?
The post offices, banks, grocery stores, gas stations—anywhere that offers that service.
Where can I apply online?
From the convenience of your home, office, public library, or a friend or family member, can help you.
I live in the city limits of Hebron, which is in Porter County, why can’t I apply at the Sheriff’s Department?
The state requires that you apply in the police jurisdiction where you live.
Why does the address on my driver’s license have to be current?
Pursuant to IC 9-24-13-4, driver’s license holders are required to notify the BMV immediately of an address or name change. Your jurisdiction is verified by your current address.
Where can I get more information about duplicate licenses, name & address changes, fees, appeal process, gun laws, etc.?
Go to www.in.gov/isp and look under firearms licensing.