Porter County Sheriff's Department

What's Happening at The Porter County Sheriff's Department


Porter County Reserve Officers take Oath

 Pictured left to right, are: Aaron Bennett, Joseph Pollock, Joseph Springer, Martin Mundo, Jamalyn Bogan, Jaw Cowger, Christopher Wittmer, Kenneth Green, and Dale Marshall.


Nine County Reserve Officers Sworn In

Nine new Porter County Reserve Officers took the Law Enforcement Oath Tuesday evening,October 3rd.  They were sworn in by Sheriff David Reynolds after being welcomed to the department by Chief Deputy David Lain. The ceremony was held at the Porter County Sheriff’s Department.  The new reserve officers have been in training since June which includes the State mandated 60 hour Pre-Basic Course, firearms, defensive tactics, traffic stops, building searches and jail training.  They have also been working with the public at the Fair, Popcorn Festival and regularly scheduled Vehicle Identification Number checks.

The new Reserve Officers are: Christopher Wittmer, Kenneth Green, Jay Cowger, Joseph Springer, Dale Marshall, Jamalyn Bogan, Martin Mundo, Arron Bennett, and Joseph Pollock.

The Reserve Mission Statement emphasizes community service under the auspices of the Sheriff’s Department, an ongoing commitment to training and experience for people seeking a career in law enforcement. Since 2005 the officers of the Reserve Division have donated over 5500 hours to the citizens of Porter County with 2700 of those hours devoted to training.  Last year, the Reserve Division was awarded the Gold Level President’s Volunteers in Public Service Award for their commitment to community service. In 2006, one federal, one state, and two local agencies have hired Porter County Reserve Officers.

The Reserve Division is under the command of Lt. George Gonzalez, he is assisted by patrolman John Brubaker.  The leadership and administrative team of the Reserve Officers includes Tawni Kamsarcik, Dennis Shelby, Mike Demkowicz, Dick Klaiber and Joe Algozine.

1999-2014 Porter County Sheriff. All rights reserved. Page design by Edie Hahn.